When I’m at my weakest…

I’m 3 days away from the New Year and entering my 3rd round of chemotherapy. Trust me when I say this process has been the hardest, most difficult thing I’ve encountered in my life. Cancer sucks!

It’s felt like a slow deletion of my body. I don’t look like or feel like my former self, physically. Just when I gain the strength to feel half way normal again, it’s time to get knocked back down.

After meeting with the doctor, she said “we are throwing everything we’ve got at you.” All the nausea meds on the market, are being taken around the clock. It takes the edge off, but feeling this sick for nearly a week, every other week makes me feel so weak.

But I’m doing it. Every time, I’m doing it.

My hair started falling out about 2 weeks ago. I got sick of finding hair everywhere and my husband helped me shave it off. The hair falling out messed with my mind. It was emotional. Now that it’s short enough, there is not as much of a hardship as it continues to escape the follicles where it belongs.

I keep reminding myself it’s all physical. My inner being is maintaining with the help of my Savior. Isaiah 40:29 has been a solace for me these last few weeks. Helping me know when I am weary, He is strong and gives me strength.

So as the New Year rings in, my resolution will be to complete treatment. In 2024, I will allow my spirit to be transformed. I will remember to give others gratitude for the many blessing they are pouring on our family.

I have to give huge shout out to my husband who has picked up so much. He buzzed my hair like a champ. Has loved on me and our boys. Always encouraging and uplifting me on the good and the bad days. Reminding me this cancer is not our forever, just our present. With the Lords strength and a small army of support, round 3 will be behind me and that much closer to the end of chemotherapy.

Prayers that your family has a happy and healthy New Year!

Leave a comment